MI Driver License Laws

Breakdown of Driver's License Laws in Michigan and Beyond

 

Driver's education has come a long way through the years and for the better. The GDL (Graduated Driver's License) is created in segments. It's important to remember that 16 and 17-year-old drivers have the highest crash rates. Remember to reduce those risks such as driving at night, drinking alcohol, driving with passengers, not wearing a seatbelt, and using cell phones while driving. The GDL helps reduce those teen driving risks.

 

Here is a breakdown of Michigan's Graduated License System according to the Parent Guide. Check your state to see if it's the same system.

 

Driver Education Segment 1

 

* Minimum age of 14 years and 8 months old

* Vision/Health Screening prior to practicing behind the wheel

* 24 hours of classroom instruction

* Six hours behind the wheel (minimum)

* Four hours of behind-the-wheel observation time

* Must pass the written exam

 

Level 1 License

 

* No Fee

* 14 Years, 9 months of age

* Vision exam

* Must meet health standards

* Written approval of parents

* Proof of social security #, legal presence, identity, and Michigan residency

* Can only drive with a parent or licensed driver age 21 or older

 

Preparation for Driver Education Segment 2

 

*Complete 30 hours of the required 50 hours behind the wheel, practicing with a parent. 2 of the 10 hours of nighttime driving required

* Must have held a valid level 1 license for no less than three consecutive months

 

Driver Education Segment 2

 

* 6 hours of classroom time (minimum)

* Written exam required

 

Preparation for Driving Skills Test

 

* Complete full 50 hours behind-the-wheel time along with 10 full hours of nighttime driving

* Review the study guides

 

Driving Skills Test

 

* Feel will vary

* Minimum of six months at level 1

* Pass vehicle inspection

* Off-road test

* On-road test

 

Level 2 License

 

* Fee is required

* 16 years old

* Violation and crash free prior to level 2 license

* Follow operating a vehicle during open times. Must not drive between 10:00 pm and 5:00 am except for employment and accompanied by a parent or adult 21 years or older.

* May not drive with more than one passenger who is less than 21...see full description in Parent Guide

 

Level 3 License

 

* No fee

* 17 Years of age

* Minimum of six months at level 2

* 12 consecutive months of no crashes or violations at level 1 and level 2 prior to application for level 3

* Full driving privileges with no restrictions
; ;